Thanks for the comments.

sswanson:  Wow, you’re still out there…  I’m glad you’re
still reading.  Keeping a job is a matter of finding a job that
you like to do and pays what you need it to pay, which is a very
difficult thing to do.

I forgot to mention that the other thing I’m always ghetto about is
furniture.  At this instant, I’m seated in a steel chair staring
at my computer equipment which is plopped on a kind of workbench my
brother built for me, which is unpainted.  On its right is a
little hutch with the Commodore stuff, and that was cross-section cut
from a cashwrap in an old video store a friend of my dad’s used to own,
and to its right, in the corner, are some CD towers that were bought in
a Big Lots (discount store).

Now, programming isn’t for everyone, of course..

posicat:  I get the impression that the object-oriented thing is a
part of that big myth that someday corporate CEOs are going to write
applications from their desks, because it’s so easy to do; and though,
to me it does seem like it should be so easy to get the basics of a
program working, even if you pass it on to someone else for debugging,
the fact is, we had to tell the boss (who’s roughly my age) what a Wiki
is.

In context, he expressed being sick of having people ‘hoard tribal
knowledge’ as he put it, meaning, he’s tired of people not sharing
information necessary to the function of the call center in the
interest of protecting their own jobs, and he sought to create a
‘knowledge base’ to compile all that sort of information.

I spoke up, “Our company already has an intranet, why not a bulletin board for this kind of thing?”

He answered, “That’s cool, but if it turns into a chat space, I’ll kill you.”

That having been said, the member of human resources that minds our
intranet is learning to program Java Servlets to write our own
-moderated- knowledge base engine.

In a follow-up meeting, someone behind me suggested Wiki, which
fundamentally, is a good idea, but I had to explain that -anyone- can
edit a Wiki -anonymously-.  I know for fact the boss doesn’t want
that.

Back to OOP…

Ruby isn’t for everything or everyone either, in fact, I question the
need for object-oriented programming in the kind of one-off work that
scripts are written for.  You can use it for that, but it won’t do
anything that Perl can’t do more intuitively, unless you hate
semi-colons.

The reason I chose Ruby was because I wanted to finally get a grasp of
the OO thing, and I wanted a language that wouldn’t complain with a
three-page stack trace when I make a mistake.

FATAL ADDICTION?  FATAL DEVOTION

A lot of news services have reported on the South Korean gentleman that
quit his job to play StarCraft and recently died in a 50-hour session.

This has stemmed up debates and unrelated ramblings from several sources, though for now I’ll refer to BBC’s:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/technology/4137782.stm

StarCraft is -still- all the rage in South Korea, and it is a Realtime
Strategy Game.  It is a spinoff of WarCraft, and was written by
the same company and much of the same staff.  The object is that
you start with no more than say, five units and a stockpile of
resouces, including but not limited to money, and you’re expected to
build an army as quickly as possible from what you have and what you
can acquire.  There can be many different goals in a session, but
the most common one is to defeat all the other players by either
forcing surrender or eradicating them from play.

What is pictured with the article is not StarCraft.  It isn’t even a RealTime Strategy Game.

The rambling that follows the news of the gentleman’s untimely session
is also not about StarCraft or Realtime Strategy Games, as they go on
to describe Everquest and Worlds of WarCraft, which are Mass
Multiplayer Role Playing Games (MMORPG, looks like something you’d say
when you swallow a golf ball.)

This section has nothing to do with what was happening: he quit his job
so he could play more StarCraft.  He probably thought he was good
enough to make a career of playing, since there are professional
StarCraft players in Korea, and their prizes get pretty substantial.

He just needed to hire a trainer to tell him that if you sit in place
for 48 hours without walking around, you’ll have a heart attack.

Meanwhile, I imagine my dad’s wife reading the latter part of the article and thinking to herself, ‘Computer games are bad.’

Hope everyone’s doing well, time for me to go put in some overtime on the telephone.

See you next time.

2 thoughts on “

  1. There’s gotta be some sort of behind the scenes tracking on the Wiki’s. It keeps the edits so that they can be backed out, so it probably keeps the IP as well, if not the actual login.

    Like

  2. Ok, I don’t have anything pertinent to say on the matter, but I read an article in Salon about Ruby and stuff like that, so I wasn’t so clueless this time. IN regards to that chap who dieD playing starcraft, something very similar happened in Australia about 6months ago. Some guy was playing games in an 24hr internet cafe for three days, after which he promplty dropped dead in the cafe’s rest rooms. And what about these people selling characters and utilities from games for REAL MONEY on Ebay? And I read some article somewhere about sweatshops that pay people to ‘farm’ around the clock for some game named ultima. I don’t know what the means but it’s all very strange.

    Like

Leave a Reply

