CREATIVE COMMONS SHOULD TAKE ACTION REGARDING MICROSOFT ZUNE

This relates to a rant posted here:
http://www.daveslounge.com/index.php?post_id=151808

Microsoft putting their name on hardware just to pretend to have a hat in a market is old news.  RIAA and MPAA companies working against the flow of the customers that pay them is also old news.

What I’ll repeat here, in case you haven’t read the article- Microsoft Zune is an iPod wannabe that is supposed to add the only function anybody might have wished for when the product was released: a way to beam the media files in the same way Palm Pilot junkees shared their programs.  Great idea, actually, and while I’ve heard of some people doing so with iPods through hacks and it’d be pretty easy for me to take the Flash card out of my Zaurus if somebody wanted to hear a song I had on it through a PC’s sound system, but sharing programs has never been an official feature of a consumer product until now.

The catch is a policy I’ll refer to as 3 for 3:  All Zunes share their files with a restriction wrapper that limits the receiver to three listens or three days, whichever comes first.  This is a blatant RIAA appeasement, and in and of itself is not wrong.

The problem is that a growing amount of music I listen to is released under a creative commons license, and the most common one I’ve run into is shortened to “attribution, share-alike”.  The “share-alike” clause makes the license “viral”, similar in spirit to the GNU Public License is for free and open-sourced software.  It says that if you are to take advantage of the freedom provided in the license, you -must- release your derived works under similar freedom, and your copies -must- honor the terms of the license as well.

A file transmitted from one Zune to another will not honor the creative commons “attribution, share-alike” license, meaning that if you try to share such a file in a Zune, you will be infringing on the copyright license.

In simpler terms, it is a felony to share creative commons licensed files between Zunes.

While I find it gets old to think in the draconian way-too-left terms that Richard M. Stallman tends to take when it comes to protections on computer software, I think it’s about time for the entertainment industry to hear their own language working against them for a change.  Watching a DVD shouldn’t be thought of as a criminal act just because it’s being watched on an apparatus built by a hobbyist, but if it is, I think it’s justice that listening to music created by a hobbyist listened to on a consumer grade device is a criminal act as well.

Here’s hoping that courts find the above thought as rediculous as it truly is.

Thanks for the comments.

Organic_Gaming: I don’t expect anyone to take blogging any more or less seriously than I do.  The space between my posts and the amount of folks I give myself time to comment on ought to be self-explanatory.

linuxaddict11111:  I should be a little more clear; I didn’t write documentation for Bygfoot, though I probably should since its docs are pretty sparce if you’re just wanting to play it.  I wrote configurations in XML for the leagues of the USA, Mexico, Argentina, and Japan.  In fact, I’ll have to figure out a way to share updates for Argentina (because there’s a mistake in the file that made the distributed tarball) and USA, because the addition of Toronto FC has realigned the leagues and altered the scheduling and playoff schemes.

My point was more that if there’s an open source software project you’re fond of, do something for them.  Anything.

It’s a bit narcissistic, but I like being able to point at my own name in the credits and know that someone else wrote my name there for a reason.

This is going to be the end of my second full week as a manager at my job, which has taken me a bit by surprise.  It is very similar to the last time I had a try at management for the holidays, in how sudden I was asked to do it, and, I just accepted it because it felt wrong not to…  the difference this time being that I’m a bit better prepared for what I’m doing.

In fact, it feels a little too easy right now.  I typically get my daily work done within six hours and wonder what to do with the remaining two.  It makes me wonder if there’s something I’m doing wrong, but considering in my last management stint nothing got done on time at all, and I was virtually doing all the work myself, this is a nice touch.

I get the impression I’m in the kind of work where if it seems like you’re not doing anything at all, it means you’re doing your job correctly, which frightens me somewhat.  I shouldn’t seem to be good at a job I’ve never done before.  Though, I should add that I’ve got a lot of support from different departments, and a lot of agents (operators) that want to work under me, which…  well, it’s nice.

Maybe I’ll get to keep this one, this time.

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone.

See you next time.

Leave a Reply

