CAUSE, OR EFFECT?

I heard about some study that linked leadership to owning several pairs of sneakers.  Specifically, a poll found that people that buy more than three pairs of sneakers per year were 61% likely to exhibit other leadership qualities.  An article on the subject is available here: http://news.yahoo.com/s/nm/20080401/lf_nm_life/sneakers_leaders_dc

It is somewhat easy to see a connection- people that have a reason to own three pairs of sneakers in a year, and people that can particularly afford to buy three pairs of more expensive sorts of sneakers in a year, are probably up to a few things that give them the qualities of leadership; however, don’t think for an instant that buying more shoes will cause you to make friends and influence people.

I compare this thinking to the so-called “Mozart Effect”, a similar study that sought to determine that exposing babies (that are unlikely to be able to interpret classical music or any music in any way other than as a repetitive and rhythmic noise) to Classical music (capital “c” 18th and 19th century music specifically) will grow up to be accelerated learners and all around genius children.

Now, what sort of people would expose their children to Classical music at an extremely young age?  I’d guess stereotypically that they’d be well-to-do and that they would also put their children through high quality day care and pre-schooling.  Would a Mozart piece have a greater effect on a child’s ability to learn than a Head Start program?  I doubt it very much.  The wikipedia article on The Mozart Effect is available here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mozart_effect

“CHARLTON HESTON CASTS THE FIRST STONE”

Actually, I don’t have much to say about the late actor turned activist, I just wanted to use the quote above.  I’m surprised more people aren’t abusing all the times he’s dramatically said “Damn you!” or “Soylent Green is made of people!”

THE WORLD IS STILL NOT ENDING

In the past year, I’ve spent a lot of time reading bits and blurbs from motorsport bloggers that are worried about the futures of their motorsports since most environmental types despise the notion of cars burning extortionate amounts of fuel in the interest of proving one set of guys can make a car seem to go faster than someone else’s over the course of a single weekend.  Of course, we’ve never had a problem with gigantic rock concerts dedicated to the same notion as long as the beer bottles are recyclable and LEDs are employed to keep the power consumption down, and yes, I did and do like the music of Midnight Oil.  There is not an easy juxtaposition between “I want to enjoy life and I want people to remember who I was when I die” and “I want to tread lightly and make sure the world is the same as when I left it.”

I think time has shown that changes in life are inevitable and should be welcomed, for better or worse.  It isn’t very often that you see an article that shows that climate change is simply that: change, without it having some political or corporate ulterior motives, so I just wanted to share that article here: http://www.spiegel.de/international/germany/0,1518,481684,00.html

When I was a teenager, I had feelings that the world would end soon and I understand why people would really want a disasterous end to the world, but no matter what you think of the subject, the world will end when it ends, in the same sense that people die when they die.  You don’t really get to decide this stuff, so there’s really only so much planning you can do.

Much happier things are to come, but I’m not sure I’m ready to write about them here just yet.

I hope everyone is well.

See you next time.

Leave a Reply

