COMPACT ELECTRONIC DESKTOP MUSIC

I don’t think I’m 100% finished with the redesign but I made a few important changes.  The first one is the slogan at the top.  It came from a few places, one of them being a Japanese fellow I showed the music to, through the magic of internet chatting, and he asked if I made “anything other than desktop music.”  Apparently, “desktop music” is a direct translation for what Japanese call music made primarily on the computer desk at home or in your bedroom.

The other place came from someone’s feedback to one of my pieces:  “I like that sizzling fart noise!”  I thought to myself how silly and dumb of a selling point “sizzling fart noise” would be, then imagined it on a business card:

chunter
compact desktop music
sizzling fart noise

The “compact desktop music” part slipped out unconsciously, and after some thought, I realized how much that phrase makes sense.  “Electronic” just emphasizes synthesis so people aren’t alarmed by that sort of sound.

I added a link badge that anyone can use to link to me at will to the bottom of the link badges on the right. I also added a copyright/left notice to the bottom, and reiterating here; a lot of what I do is free for download and even public examination, and I don’t mind people having and sharing copies if I should accidentally strike enough interest, however; if anything should strike the fancy to remix or reuse in a gigantic project, please give me credit and please let me know.  On this very page are several ways to contact me.

What is compact music?  Well, the majority of what you hear on this page (if you’re reading this directly from the xanga blog) was at the very least recorded, if not completely written and produced, on the same laptop computer that I am using to write this entry.  I have just upgraded this laptop again, and I’d like to say the Compaq Evo series is pretty good on 1 Gigabyte of RAM.  (The people responsible for me acquiring this laptop know who they are, so I’d like to take this opportunity to thank them.)  While some of the works are made on the not-so-compact PC at home (does mini-ATX count as compact?) a growing few are being made on devices even smaller than this laptop, like the DS-10 tunes (Nintendo DS).

The spirit of this music is similar to the spirit of folk music: simple music that anyone can learn to make, and though it can be as simple or complex as you want, it is enjoyed simply for what it is, with temporary enjoyment being the only expectation.  While I could site many that epitomize this better than I do, I’d like to call attention to a more unusual one:

http://uk.youtube.com/user/jetdaisuke

This guy is very easy to understand, though he doesn’t speak a word of English, and though he’s an honest to goodness gear whore (which means he buys and collects too much junk) and not even anyone I’d consider to be the greatest musician on earth, it’s the spirit of fun, the temporal nature, and the carry-anywhere vibe.  All he needs is a macbook, though there are plenty of other toys in his arsenal if he wants to use them.

The other spirit of this music, converted more broadly into all forms of art, is the Crap Art movement.  The spirit of Crap Art is to make something every day.  Make lots of something, enjoy what you make, and love what you make.  Some of it might accidentally end up being good.  By not worrying about quality, and focussing on quantity, you enjoy what you do more, and fear failure less.  More information here:

http://crapart.com/about/

This shouldn’t be unusual to writing friends that have done poetry circles or the NaNoWriMo (national novel writing month) contest.

I hope things are going well for everyone, I know that life isn’t exactly perfect for most right now.

See you next time.

Leave a Reply

