If you’re not finished crucifying Casey Anthony yet…

Forgive me, I’m going to be Devil’s Advocate for a moment.

From http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Missing_white_woman_syndrome:

Missing white woman syndrome (MWWS) or missing pretty girl syndrome is a vernacular term for the disproportionately greater degree of coverage in televisionradionewspaper and magazine reporting of a misfortune, most often a missing person case, involving a young,attractivewhiteupper-middle classwoman or girl. This degree of coverage is contrasted with cases concerning a missing male, or missing females of other ethnicities, socioeconomic classes or physical attractiveness.

I’m not a believer in the phrase “stupid people shouldn’t breed” or that people should be singled out and removed from society in genocidal fashion.  I look forward to a day when the presumption of guilt is no longer a problem but willingly concede that it always will be an issue.

Since most people have cared enough to follow this case have allowed the extreme prejudice of photographs and emotion to conquer them in whole, let me share some of my ill feelings about today’s news.

When I look at a photograph of Caylee Anthony, I see a girl who would have grown up to look like Casey Anthony, and become just like her mother. If you think that sounds cruel, consider how quickly so many people wanted to remove Casey Anthony from the gene pool entirely.  Were you one of them?

I don’t like to sound like I’m judging so many people in a single stroke, though I’m afraid I have. The only thing that is certain is that everyone’s perception is clouded and that it is now impossible to find the real truth. Sorry, determining that “nobody else could have done it” is not evidence that undeniably ties a culprit to a murder, no matter how clear that may seem to be in your mind, heart, or whatever, and what remains are unanswerable questions. I admit, I have no idea what happened, and I insist that neither does anyone else. I can assume that people who know something have successfully collaborated to keep the secret, but sadly, without evidence of the collaboration, it is no different.

I do know that a lot of social and psychological energies have been wasted over a single person while the abduction and murder of children continues to happen, even in the town I live in.

You remember Christopher Barrios, Jr., don’t you?  Or do you?  That’s what MWWS means.

Sorry, I don’t mean to judge, I want to ask, when bombarded with so many stories and photographs, do you really think that you are able to be impartial?

Leave a Reply

